Possesing Life

When we watched the other animals on the planet, what do we see? We see them play, we see them eat, sleep etc. Sometimes we even see them suffer. They may suffer from a lack of something, or some other introduction of pain. But they don’t think about there own suffering. They don’t worry about a suffering that may occur in the future. So they don’t suffer over the thought of suffering. They also don’t acquire goods to any extent.  They don’t build up their material possessions. A dog may have a bone, a monkey may play with a stick. But none aim to gain a substantial amount of them to use as finance. Nothing to gain, nothing to lose. They are living in the most basic of ways. What we call the indigenous or the nomads are the only logical comparison within  the human species. Though what have we gained? I have been having trouble lately, dealing with my attachment to possessions. I think about losing the things that protect my existence, like money and materials. I worry about losing the people I love. I worry about losing my mind, and I worry about losing my life. I have been getting short of breath, anxious and subsequently exhausted from the ordeal. Then I realize, that I have no control over these things, and that my desire to control these things is what causes me so much stress. We have to let go. We must admit to ourselves that we do not have control, we must realize that we cannot posses anything. We must also realize we may not know anything about anything. We can only do one thing for sure. Play and enjoy it while it is here. Whatever it is that comes and goes through our lives, even life itself, is but a passing thing, met to be adorned not possessed.

2 thoughts on “Possesing Life

  1. Another great piece Mark. I love the validity to your story, it makes so much sense. Your thoughts remind me of one of my favorite authors, speakers, etc, and she is Katie Byron. You seem to take it one step beyond the place she does, and also the fact that your a man makes it even more amazing. Much success to you. Nina

Leave a comment