Family Ties

Together we take the family portrait
I’ve heard your supposed to smile so I force it
The forces at work like winds of the hurricane…
No one knowing that your in pain
Or at what depths you’ve kept your emotions
The heart carves a trench in the ocean–
Hardened veins in the rock, locked in by time
I am unaware of many thoughts in my mind…
And though the ore is regressed in the hill
The rivers whisper, they never sit still
The trees speak of sorrow, the life gets ill
The night is filled with unrighteous kills

These family ties, there made like a noose
Sometimes I feel like I can’t break loose

The ground beneath crumbles…
We stumble;
Through the halls, we were all in trouble
Before the fall of our god of the noose
We were robbed of more than we thought we could loose
A thief in the night, troubled by his dreams
Acted in the day, as if we were enemies
But once he had left, the grief that we kept–
Had us at each others throats, always reached for the neck
We never came to terms, we just smiled and we squirmed
Inside, in our eyes is a fire that still burns;
A fire fed by a fuel unclean
A mystery that fully, few have seen

These family ties, there made like a noose
Sometimes I feel like I can’t break loose

 

2 thoughts on “Family Ties

Leave a comment